DU: A School for the People   Leave a comment

Hey there!

My name is Katie Connor and I am a second year here at GSSW.  I am a part of the Clinical: Adults Track and Interpersonal Trauma Certificate and my internship this year is at a hospice agency located in Denver.

I have truly loved my experience at DU. When I started my fall quarter as a first year, I was really nervous and didn’t know what to expect.  I had taken a few years off after completing my BA and wasn’t sure how easy it would be to get back into the academic grind.  Although my first quarter was a little intense (as I was used to the semester system and MLA writing format), by the end of the ten weeks, I felt that I had built a solid foundation of knowledge with which I could expand upon in future classes.

While I am very happy with the quality of the education at GSSW, I am most thankful for the relationships I have developed with the professors and students.  This line of work will bring up issues for everyone, which is why it is so important to take care of yourself and develop a good support system.  I know that at the end of a tough day, I can reach out to a number of people in the DU network, and they will be there to support me. 

The quality of the people here are unmatched, in my humble opinion, and I am glad to know many of them. :)

Katie

Posted December 13, 2012 by cconn4kt in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,182 other followers

