GSSW Alumni to be on ABC’s the Shark Tank   Leave a comment

 

 

 

DU Alumnus Takes A Dip In ABC’s Shark Tank

 Megan Gage (formerly Boyle), a 2006 graduate of DU’s Graduate School of Social Work, will appear on ABC’s Shark Tank on January 4, 2013.  The popular business-themed reality TV show provides an opportunity for hopeful entrepreneurs to pitch their concept to very successful business men and women known as “sharks” in hopes of obtaining a powerful partner.

 Gage, founder of Hot Tot, will pitch her specialized children’s hair product line.  Founded in 2010, Hot Tot produces professional hair products for babies and children without the use of harsh or harmful chemicals.  Her eight-piece line offers specialized options designed to cleanse, condition and style immature (children’s) hair.

 

“Hot Tot was born shortly after my son,” Gage explains.  “I started mixing lotion and pomade in my little guy’s hair when he was an infant to give him a charming curl.  I was surprised by the number of people who would inquire about what product I was using to achieve his stylish look and became really passionate about health and safety issues after learning that many trusted children’s brands commonly use a long list of toxins in their products.  I combined natural ingredients with posh packaging and our Cabbage Patch-inspired scent to create something that was unlike anything else on the market.  While my brand has grown consistently in the eighteen months since our first product’s launch, I would love to partner with someone who has overcome the struggles of growing a small business into an international brand.”

 

Gage’s social work roots are evident upon first glance.  “I wanted my company to encompass various elements of inner and outer beauty.  I define a Hot Tot as a confident and stylish youngster who gives to their neighbor and cares for our planet and am committed to donating a portion of our proceeds to charities that benefit children.  It is important that my company’s impact reaches farther than those who are fortunate enough to use my products.  Even though I’m doing something outside of my studies, this element of feels very familiar.”

 Tune into Shark Tank on January 4, 2013 at 8pm on Denver’s Channel 7 to see if the sharks will bite!

 See picture below for some of her unique products! Wish her luck!!

 

Image

Posted December 21, 2012 by Nick in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,039 other followers

