Diversifying

My specialization at GSSW is the clinical High-Risk Youth track so the bulk of my classes recently have been geared towards the adolescent population (youth violence, substance abuse, juvenile justice system, etc.).  Although high-risk youth is definitely my passion and main interest, I was interested in diversifying my social work education in hopes of making myself more marketable when I graduate.  The open electives at GSSW really made this process easy for me.  Next quarter I will be taking a class on social work with older adults and in the spring I plan to take a class on working with individuals who have terminal illnesses.  By taking a variety of courses, I feel that I am keeping a multitude of career doors open for myself when I graduate.  GSSW greatly encourages this and even allows you to take classes outside the social work department.  For example, you can take courses in public policy, international studies, etc.  I feel that it is important to get the most out of my education and therefore am eager to study a variety of topics in addition to my specialization.

Leave a Reply

