Intentional Interviewing Skills/Lab

As I reflect upon the classes I took my first quarter, I want to share some insights gained from my Skills/Lab class. One key component to this class involves integrating interviewing skills explored in the class by videotaping interviews with another person. This really helped provide insight into my own natural attributes in guiding or encouraging discussion. Of course observing yourself in interactions is always a bit unnerving, but incredibly educational. Among the things I learned was that I have remain mindful about not bringing my own agenda into a therapeutic encounter. That said, the highlight of taped interviews for me came during one dynamic discussion where the interviewee and I  lost track of time and  and were engaged in the flow of the interaction.  Those dynamic experiences are powerful moments of ecstatic engagement that can build strong relational rapport.  I really look forward to my forthcoming clinical courses.

Leave a Reply

