Bringing the Classroom to (real)life!

As I begin another quarter in my second year I am able to take more courses that are geared towards my internship and my areas of interest. There are skills that are taught in my classes that I will be able to immediately incorporate into my field work. Since I am in the Child Welfare track one of the skills courses that I am taking is Intake and Family Based Services. This course’s objectives includes interviewing children, writing an intake assessment and beginning treatment services for a family. All of these skills are very valuable in child protection services. Concurrently with taking this course I am beginning to work with my own cases and family that I need to provide services to. The skills that I learn in the classroom will be skills that I will practice and become proficient at 24 hours a week. The classroom will teach me best practice with a family while I get to utilize best practice with families.

Leave a Reply

