2nd quarter

After a frantic first quarter getting acclimated to the classes, internship and the expectations sorrounding both, I feel much more relaxed at the start of winter quarter.  The break we had was much welcomed, aloowing for a great deal of decompression. The three courses I’m taking are Clinical Theories, Community Theories, and Social Welfare Policy. From my initial impression, all three seem as though they will be really interesting. Although clinical social work will be the track I choose for my concentration year, I find myself fascinated with social welfare policy as well. I’ve always been fascinated by politics and certainly, however idealistic I may be, I know substantial reform requires changes in policy. The bottom line is politics invades everything. At the risk of sounding like a cliche, becoming versed in the nuances of social work policy, I believe is findamental to my effectivness as a social worker.

Leave a Reply

