Gerontologicawesome

I have one word to describe my Social Work with Older Adults class this quarter – Gerontologicawesome.  Although my background is primarily with high-risk adolescents, I decided to take a gerontology social work class for a change of pace and to gain skills that allow me to work with a broader range of individuals.  It’s been epic.  Recently, I visited an older adult resource center in Denver so I could get a better feel for what types of services are offered to the population.  It was a blast.  I spent time in the day program and hung out with amazing older adults who helped show me that the stereotypes of aging are far from true.  Gerontological social work is a lot more than working with enfeebled and forlorn individuals.  I hope to be able to volunteer at the resource center this year and continue to work with the older adult population in some capacity in the future.

One thought on “Gerontologicawesome

Leave a Reply

