Crisis Intervention Presentation

As a first-year student at GSSW, I am enrolled in a foundation seminar course that is intended to bridge our field experience with classroom learning.  This week, we had a guest presenter speak to us about crisis intervention and his experience with different types of intervention strategies.  He spoke about threat assessments, suicide assessments, and abuse (domestic violence, child abuse/neglect, elder abuse, etc.).  He not only provided us with a packet of information and resources regarding these topics, but he also shared first hand experiences dealing with crisis situations.  As somebody who works with high-risk youth, this lecture was very pertinent to my field work and my future plans as a social worker.  I definitely think I am now better prepared to deal with crises in the field (or at least know where to go when I have questions)!

One thought on “Crisis Intervention Presentation

  1. I would have loved to be in attendance for this meeting. The topic would have been of great interest to me, as I am passionate about crisis and intervention programs and research. One of my Jobs here at BSU is that of a Service-Learning Ambassador. I promote the concept of bridging field work with learning outcomes and objectives. I have had the opportunity to work with agencies where I have gained invaluable experience and skills, as well I see students every day who are impacted by their field work. I work with all of the social work and psychology students on campus, which allows me to fully understand the realm of what these experiences have on their lives and future career choices. I am looking forward to what the future has to offer!

Leave a Reply

