Transitioning from Classroom to Practice

Spring Quarter of your concentration year brings some interesting challenges, what will I do after graduation?!?! However, for some students like myself, you will get hired by your internship placement before graduation. That challenge: How do you balance trying to finish your coursework while making great first impressions and learning your new job? I tried to strategically plan this by taking extra courses in previous courses so that I can be one course lighter this quarter. Also, I am able to role my field hours into my work hours so I don’t need to be working 64 hours a week! Let me tell you that I do feel very overwhelmed by this idea, but I feel confident in my ability to time manage and that my supervisor understands that I do need to be in class 6 hours a week and we schedule my hours around that. It will be a rough 8 weeks, but the peace of mind of be employed is worth dealing with a little bit more than I would like on my plate.

With transitioning from the classroom to practicing in the field I am eager to utilize all that I have learned in the classroom and through field experiences. I am also ready to learn how I can best effect clients and families.

One thought on “Transitioning from Classroom to Practice

  1. Thank you for sharing your experiences as, would you say, a more “non-traditional” student, even though I find many who are obtaining their graduate degree are non-traditional.

    I am more traditional myself. I do have two years of field experience in working with victims of domestic violence, though I am going immediately from an undergraduate to a graduate program.

    I think what I appreciated about the more non-traditional students in my program was hearing of all their field experiences. They had so much insight and it made the field seem even more realistic. Thank you for sharing your post with others.

Leave a Reply

