Second Year Internship

After several interviews with various agencies, I accepted an offer at St. Joseph Hospital in Behavioral Health. I actually will start the internship in June and continue throughout the academic year. This “summer block” option will allow me to balance my academic year and family life and other obligations a bit more. Further, I will have a unique opportunity to explore a geri-psych program that’s beginning at St. Joe’s in August. I think one of the great things about the DU GSSW program is that the is flexibility to mold your schedule and create an experience that is suited to support each student.

I actually had two interviews with St. Joe’s and really connected with the person who will be my supervisor and the two other people I would be working most directly with.  That is a critical piece of the internship for me. Feeling both supported, yet challenged, and being able to communicate clearly with your supervisor is really makes for the optimal field experience.

Leave a Reply

