First-Year at GSSW

I can’t believe my first year at GSSW is coming to a close. It has been a hectic year!

This year, I met a bunch of great new people in the Admissions Department where I am a work-study student, interned at the Rocky Mountain Immigrant Advocacy Network, and took 12 classes.

The 2011-2012 school year was certainly a juggling act. Each week, I spent 16 hours in field, 12 hours in class, 12-15 hours at work, and countless hours studying and reading. Knowing I was not alone helped me see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Though I still have five papers to turn in and one DSM-IV test to take, I feel I have accomplished a great deal this year.

The projects and papers assigned by faculty helped me understand more about myself and my clients. I learned the value of social work ethics and my field internship helped me put these into practice. There were difficult periods, like finals, and there were long, necessary breaks (like our 6-week winter vacation).

Overall, I am grateful to DU’s School of Social Work for a great first year experience. That said, I am looking forward to a three-month break! Only three weeks to go!

 

Leave a Reply

